robot stuff from my friends

this robot thing started as a passing comment and now is a whole thing. i use robots and robot-like ideas to explore things metaphorically. i advise you on how to use robotic style cues in your home decor and fashion. i find fun videos that remind me of robots, or rayguns, or rockets, and i show them to you.

but i couldn’t do it, you know, if you all didn’t so readily accept the Robot Thing. because without the acceptance and amusement you find in this passing comment (“I like things that remind me of robots”), i would never receive the bounty of gifts and links that you all bestow on me with shocking regularity.

herewith, a roundup from the last few weeks of Robot Stuff you, dear readers and good friends, have sent me:

an amazing animatronic show reel by John Nolan Films, courtesy of Mr. Sohler.

here’s an example of his work:

2. a poster from Istanbul, sent by Cagney. (this poster led directly to Cagney partying all night with Dr. K and Akon.)

3. then there was this story about The Robot Rodeo in Los Alamos, in which bomb squads in New Mexico took part in contests to demonstrate their proficiency in controlling remote controlled robots, sent to me by Mollie Ziegler Hemingway, who you should be following on Twitter and reading on the web because you could probably stand to experience other viewpoints and she writes beautifully (also sometimes she lets me play with her kids who are adorable!).

here’s my favorite bit:

The Robot Rodeo was held last week at a tech site at Los Alamos National Laboratory.
The three-day event offered hours of hands-on training at the controls of $225,000 robots used for bomb and hazardous waste detection and disposal.
Six teams guided robots through 10 challenges, including an obstacle course, simulated attacks, cooperation exercises and activities to test their ability to minutely control the robot, said Chris Ory, a member of Los Alamos lab’s hazardous devices team.
Controlling the robot was where pancake-making came into play.
Teams from the state police and Santa Fe Police Department controlled robots while watching video monitors from vehicles parked outside a small building where two judges sat, ready with syrup and butter to taste their pancakes.

4. my good friend Jeff sent me a comic strip demonstrating a deep understanding of robots. also, it made me laugh.

5. my mom likes to walk her dog in the woods behind her place, and one day she came upon this image, which she claims reminded her of a robot. may i remind you all that my mother is (A) highly creative, and (B) an Oregonian.

6. my brother also spotted something referencing robots, and sent it to me:

7. from lovely Jaime of Room for Young Ones, first, a subway poster I’ve been trying to get a decent shot of for months:

8. and finally, also from Jaime (via @ebertchicago), there is this video, of a robot that balances on a ball, proving yet again, that robots are better than me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to robot stuff from my friends

  1. we’re going to get a better picture of that city tech poster someday.

Leave a Reply

