oh my oh my – a theme song

i went to Pianos on Friday night to see a band called Menage a Twang with a few friends.  the little trio is a 2010, all-girl equivalent to the Kingston Trio, and that’s probably why I find them so enthralling.  plus, songs like “Listen Sister, Don’t Date a Hipster” and “One Night Stand” are just too spot on.

and of course “Weekend Service Changes” is the latter-day “Charlie and the MTA.”

so this got me thinking about that horrible Ally McBeal trope – the theme song.

for those inclined to think about things like this from the point of view of people who enjoy things like robots, rockets and ray guns (um, yeah, I mean me), here are a few candidates.

New Dork State of Mind…

The Humans Are Dead by Flight of the Conchords… just as good live!

(yes, I’ve posted this before)

But now!  Check out this cover, performed BY robots (The Trons performs The Humans Are Dead)…

If your tastes turn more towards the avant garde (if the avant garde can be said to be 40 years old), may I turn you on now to what must be a kind of robot anthem?  Yes, you say, why else would you be reading a blog about robots? Fair Point.

Ladies & gentlemen, I give you “The Chrome Plated Megaphone of Destiny” by Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention (We’re Only In It For the Money).

Yeah, I’m not giving you that.  You gotta buy the track/album.

But here’s some random video of a kid who refers to a chrome plated megaphone of destiny.

Now, if you’re like me, some days you do just want to listen to Jarvis Cocker.  Today, for instance, is rainy and a bit gloomy, and would be a day better served by watching a curated playlist of Buffy the Vampire Slayer episodes with a puppy in your lap.  Let’s see, “Hush”, “The Body”, “Dead Things” ,”Once More with Feeling”…

anyway – jarvis cocker’s “fat children”… live. watch him dance.

Oh! I just thought of a funny joke.  Somebody should cover the Zappa album, but change the title to “I’m only in I.T. for the money.”  Because that’s hilarious.

This entry was posted in comedy, music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

